Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL

Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL

Since its foundation in 1974-75, the league has been the premier club cricket competition in Bangladesh. It gained List A rank starting with the 2013-14 tournaments, thus superseding the National Cricket League One-Day as Bangladesh’s main List A match. In 2014-15 and 2015-16 all matches took place around Dhaka: in Fatullah, Mirpur, and Savar.The system of assign players to clubs varies from season to season but has a method of the lottery. Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL between seasons.

Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL

Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL
Indians dominate overseas presence in DPL

Most teams comprising players from outside Bangladesh. In 2013-14 82 foreign players engage in the competition. Although clubs were allowed to have several foreign players on their list, 36 foreign players took part, inclusive of 22 Indians and 10 Sri Lankans.

Foreign interest in the Dhaka Premier League starts to rise in 2013-14 when the tournament was granted List A status. That season has 82 players from outside Bangladesh, including Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Ravi Bopara, Jacob Oram and Ryan ten Doeschate. The BCB had allowed two overseas players per team then. That limit was bound at one in 2014-15 and still there were a plethora of players participating from Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, England, and Afghanistan.

Throughout, DPL teams have preferred to have Pakistani players. But the major changed in 2013 when the PCB stopped providing no-objection certificates to play in Bangladesh. The ban was lifted last year.

This season Indians were valuable. There were 22 of them in a total of 36 overseas players. Next in terms of the maximum players were the Sri Lankans (10). BCB director Jalal Yunus believed this was because the best players were from those two countries.

“The BCCI gave permission to play overseas, only in List-A format, after a number of years,” “So, most of the clubs moved on for Indian and Sri Lankan players this season. Pakistani players were not recalled this year because many of their top names were busy in other competitions.”

Uday Kaul was the first Indian player who signed up DPL; he appeared in Abahani Limited’s opening game on April 22. Abahani enlisted six more of his countrymen, including Manoj Tiwari, Yusuf Pathan, Dinesh Karthik, and Rajat Bhatia, who has played in previous seasons. Legends of Rupganj choose three Indians – Jalaj Saxena, Ishank Jaggi, and Pawan Negi, who stayed with them the most.

Jalaj’s elder brother, Jatin Saxena was the highest run-getter and wicket-taker among the 22 Indian players. He got 279 runs and seven wickets from the seven matches he played for Kalabagan Cricket Academy.

His team was one of two to move down from the premier to the first division, but Jatin made the most of his opportunity and built up his chances of playing for a new team in the upcoming Indian domestic season after getting an NOC from his current side Madhya Pradesh.
Manoj Tiwary felt that tournaments such as the DPL have been responsible in Bangladesh improving as a limited-over team

There was a time when players such as Raman Lamba, Arun Lal, and Ashok Malhotra regularly played the DPL but the accessibility of Pakistani and Sri Lankan talent slowly took Indians out of the equation. Now, with the BCCI gave permission to their players in List A tournaments, the DPL could once again become a profitable place for Indian players.

Indian players in DPL 2016

  • Rajat Bhatia (Abahani) 2 wickets and 105 runs in 2 matches
  • Uday Kaul (Abahani) 169 runs in 4 matches
  • Dinesh Karthik (Abahani) 179 runs in 4 matches
  • Manoj Tiwary (Abahani) 40 runs in 1 match
  • Yusuf Pathan (Abahani) 68 runs in 2 matches
  • Manvinder Bisla (Abahani) 50 runs in 2 matches
  • Yashpal Singh (Abahani) 9 runs in 1 match
  • Pawan Negi (Rupganj) 6 wickets and 184 runs in 5 matches
  • Jalaj Saxena (Rupganj) 52 runs in 2 matches
  • Ishank Jaggi (Rupganj) 39 runs in 3 matches
  • Milind Kumar (Brothers Union) 4 wickets and 49 runs in 4 matches
  • Puneet Bisht (Gazi Group) 86 runs in 1 match
  • Gurkeerat Singh (Gazi Group) 2 wickets and  22 runs in 2 matches
  • Jatin Saxena (KCA) 7 wickets and 279 runs in 7 matches
  • Paras Dogra (Kalabagan) 23 runs in 2 matches
  • Rohan Prem (Kalabagan) 34 runs in 2 matches
  • Sachin Rana (Prime Bank) 4 wickets and 75 runs in 2 matches
  • Unmukt Chand (Prime Bank) 3 wickets and 197 runs in 6 matches
  • Bipul Sharma (MSC) 4 wickets and 134 runs in 2 matches
  • Mithun Manhas (MSC) 37 runs in 2 matches
  • Sachin Baby (Doleshwar) 1 wicket and  127 runs in 5 matches
  • Ashok Menaria (Doleshwar) 4 wickets and 75 runs in 4 matches

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *